The building was built between 1932 and 1935 under the direction of Ali-Georges Tur, architect of the Ministry of the colonies, to serve as residence to the governor of Guadeloupe. It is part of a global project of the Ministry to promote the development of the prefecture of Guadeloupe after the damage caused by Hurricane Okeechobee in September 1928. Also in view of the celebrations of the tercentenary of the French presence on the island which also included the Basse-Terre courthouse and the palace of the general council. The prefectural administration moved there in 1951.
On December 15, 1997, the prefecture is partially classified as historical monuments after its registration of 1993.