Matis House is a building currently located at number 52 (or 256) Amedee-Fengarol Street at the corner of Bossant Street in Basse-Terre. Built around 1770, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city and on the island. It was listed as a historical monument in 2008.
The Matis House was built before 1769, on the foundations of a previous building prior to 1688, as suggested by the plans Payen and Plumier of 1686 and 1688. There are indications that the construction of the House Matis dates back to 1750, making one of the oldest buildings, still intact, of Basse-Terre and Guadeloupe. The choice of the place of construction is probably related to the proximity of one of the main holds of the city and to the Place d’Armes which it faced. The presence of the “ravine of the Jesuits” (blocked and channeled between 1768 and 1769) allowed easy access to water and explain the location chosen for this building.
At the end of the eighteenth century, the building belonged to Joseph Dujarric de Lagarde, doctor of the king, born in 1729 in Montignac in Perigord, also owner at that time of three lime kilns on the shore under the old fort. When he died in 1795, the house was passed on to his natural son, Jean-Baptiste de Lagarde, a mulatto married to Elisabeth Corbet, Metis and sister of Noël Corbet, companion in arms of Colonel Louis Delgres. In June 1822, during the succession of Jean-Baptiste de Lagarde, who died in 1810, the building was shared between his son Guillaume and his daughter Marie Joseph Josephine who inherited the eastern half (now Maison Matis).
In the eighteenth century and nineteenth century, the poor maintenance of homes (associated with degradation by xylophagous insects) is a constant in Basse-Terre in all classes of colonial society. The devastating cyclones of 1825 and 1865 destroyed half of the city of Basse-Terre and severely damaged the western and northern parts of the building. Only the eastern part, called Maison Matis, has kept its floor. After several repairs followed by sales and resales, the house was put in auction and becomes July 13, 1871 the property of Hyacinthe Matis who will give his name to the building and pass it on to his son Leon Matis. During the cyclone of 1928, the Maison Matis serves as a refuge for the inhabitants of the city of Basse Terre.
On October 13, 2008, the house Matis is registered as a historical monument. In 2011-2012, it was restored with the help of the Cultural Affairs Department of Guadeloupe to revive the original facades and rebuild the old wooden gallery that ran along the north facade