The Galion Bridge is a bridge overlooking the Galion River located near the Fort Delgrès in the town of Basse-Terre. It is located by the D25. The bridge was registered as a historic monument by decree of March 6, 1979
Built during the second half of the eighteenth century, between 1773 and 1780 on the plans of the abbot of Talcy, the bridge allows the crossing from one bank to the other of the Galion. It has only one arch high about thirty meters high. Originally, the two ends of the bridge were formed by wooden decks that could be destroyed to counter the advance of enemies.
The bridge is still used for road and pedestrian traffic between the upper district of Basse-Terre (rue Lardenoy and D’Arbaud) and the town of Gourbeyre. Due to its degradation status of its two centuries of use, major rehabilitation works (masonry, earthworks, creation of a pedestrian bridge at a cost of 2.5 million euros) were undertaken by the General Council of the island and the Department of Cultural Affairs between summer 2014 and January 2015 to ensure the sustainability of the work and better circulation of users