Arsenal was successively a Jesuits convent and an artillery barracks. Today it is a residential residence. It is located in Basse-Terre, Guadeloupe, near Fort Delgres, the Church of Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel and Gerville-Reaache High School. The whole is registered in 2005, then classified as historical monuments by decree of April 12, 2007
The land was first occupied by the Jesuits from 1664. The convent was built at the beginning of the eighteenth century, before the Jesuits were driven out of Guadeloupe, as the rest of the Kingdom of France in 1764.
The land is then used by the military, already installed at Fort Delgres, as artillery. It is divided into different parts, housing officers, non-commissioned officers, soldiers, workshops, stables. The architecture of the surviving buildings reflects the role of each part: stone buildings or wooden buildings.
Arsenal was decommissioned by the army in 1907 and abandoned, before its purchase by an American. When he died, the land and buildings were auctioned off and turned into homes.